Welcome

So, my first professional blog post. I’ve agonised a little about what to put here, so I’ve decided that instead of trying to come up with a nicely crafted bit of text I’ll just summarise why I’m doing this.

I’ve been a Technical Author now for over ten years. As a career path it has had its ups and downs, and for the last year or so I’ve been thinking about where to go next.

By happy coincidence I now have a job as a Technical Author that is actually requiring me to apply my knowledge and skills to broader problems of content creation, control and distribution. Thanks to the experience of the ISTC’s Technical Communications UK conference last week, I now know that this is Content Strategy and that being a Content Strategist is what I want to do when I grow up.

This blog forms part of this career shift I’m seeking. I want to have an ongoing conversation with the kind of people I met at TCUK10 (and TCUK09 for that matter). I want to air my thoughts on Technical Authoring, Content Strategy, and related topics. I want to find out when I’m making sense and, perhaps more importantly, when I’m barking up the wrong tree.

I hope to be posting fairly regularly. Comments, constructive criticism, advice, helpful links and amusing cartoons are very much welcome.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Chris Atherton on September 28, 2010 - 8:59 pm

    Hey! Welcome to WordPress.

    I’m something of a content strategy convert since meeting Roger, David et al. Looking forward to seeing what you have to say 🙂

    • #2 by jk1440 on September 29, 2010 - 9:00 pm

      Hi Chris 🙂

      I’m hoping I can contribute something meaningful to the discussion while I learn more about Content Strategy. It’s a challenge, but one I’m really looking forward to.

  2. #3 by Dwayne on December 23, 2013 - 3:50 am

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet
    the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider
    worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed
    to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

